Am I Okay Yet?

Standard

Stained glass spaceship

I’d rather have a job,
Or some money so I can go my own way.
I’d rather be independent,
But I’ll settle for okay.

I’d rather not have anxiety,
Or pain that flattens me for days.
I’d rather have a sound mind and body,
But I’ll settle for okay.

Okay is sometimes the very best
That I can aspire to reach.
The words, “Love yourself, no matter what.”
Is a sermon others preach
I’d rather not have to listen to the saccharine words they say.
I wish I felt well again.
But I’ll settle for okay.

Leave a Reply

